[MAD] Mary Ann & Don

FRANCE!

Posted by madkingblog on January 2, 2010

I finally got to spend two weeks in Europe with my hubby!! I’ve wanted to go back to Europe for almost 8 years now – since I back packed through Europe after undergrad – and especially since I’ve met the love of my life. Anyone who has been there should understand why!  So, some time around the end of summer I finally said to hell with timing and just started planning! Don was really interested in France, so much so that he had talked to me about the dream of retiring there before he had ever been.  Well, I guess the best way to found out is to go!  As good luck would have it, we had two friends, Michelle and Aaron, that had been planning a trip to France and were going VERY soon, sooo I promptly stole some research and recommendations from Michelle, a natural born planner, and started from there!  We ended up visiting four of the same cities and staying in three of the same B&B’s and now as a bonus to our trips we get to swap stories!

After all the planning was said and done, we ended up spending the last week of November and first week of December in France!  This is normally a gloomy gray time in France but we were really fortunate.  The first week, when we were  in southern France, we had beautiful blue sunny skies and sweater weather! The second week it did get more gray and rainy but we just bundled up tight and headed out every day anyway and it wasn’t too bad.  We even got a few more sunny days in Paris. Plus as a nice bonus, all of France was decorated for Christmas and it was sooo beautiful. I love Christmas time and getting to experience this in another country was really fun!  We brought back ornaments as souvenirs for friends and family.

So our overall feelings about France are WOW!  We had no idea what beauty and history this country holds.  The south of France was absolutely our favorite part of the trip. The villages, medieval cities, and mountains were amazing… seriously… awe-inspiring!  Best trip of both our lives hands down (and I’ve traveled through 11 countries in Europe)! If I had to try to sum up what is so amazing about Southern France I would say enchanting… in ways we only hoped for but did not expect.

We did however, visit three other areas of France and they were wonderful too, they just didn’t quite make the impression on our spirits that southern France did.  I’m going to post the trip details with our favorite memories and pics day by day. Hopefully, if wordpress cooperates and doesn’t suck too much, I’ll post once a day.

A preview of a few favorites…

More to come!

2 Responses to “FRANCE!”

  1. Heather said

    Thanks for sharing. Can’t wait to see the posts to come.

  2. Michelle said

    I’m so glad you had such an awesome time! Looking forward to more posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
